Photography

Whats on my mind? – How to make a Nissin Di 622 flash work off-camera.

I’m very behind on the zerotohero daily posts and this is the post that was first on my mind when I first decided to start a blog.

I have always loved looking at beautiful pictures and wished that someday I will be creating such images myself. When I finally decided to take the plunge and buy a DSLR, I asked a friend who has been a hobbyist photographer for advice on which camera to buy. I had no idea of any of the jargon associated with DSLRs. I did not even know that a Canon body did not go with Nikon lenses and vice versa. All I had used so far was my point and shoot but the results were not so bad. Below are some my pictures I had taken using my point and shoot.

 

 

But every blog I read or every photographer I talked to, kept going on and on about how the addition of a flash would enhance my photography. Also, as a beginner DSLR photographer, I was looking for exercises I could do to learn. I came across Bryan Peterson’s ‘You keep shooting’ series on youtube and I wanted to try the photographs he took with a single flash.

Being on a budget, I chose the Nissin Di622 which has a guide number of 44 comparable to Canon Speedlite 430 EX II and Nikon Speedlight SB600 while it is about a £100 cheaper. Although I found several product review and unboxing blogs and videos online, I could not find a detailed manual on how to make the flash work off-camera.

Here is what I found (This is for Canon cameras, specifically a Canon 600D):

Off-camera flash can work in either manual mode or in TTL mode.

Off-camera Manual mode:

  • Turn the camera built-in flash on.
  • In the Camera Menu, go to flash control and set built-in flash func. setting to CustWireless. Set the Flash Mode to Manual.
  • Turn the off-camera flash on and set it to SD (Slave digital) mode with the green light. The buttons below are for 1/32, 1/16, 1/8, ¼, ½ and full power.

Off-camera TTL mode:

  • Turn the camera built-in flash on.
  • In the Camera Menu, go to flash control and set built-in flash func. setting to EasyWireless.
  • Turn the off-camera flash on and set it to Ch1 mode with the purple light.
  • TTL mode requires that the camera’s built-in flash and the external flash maintain the line of sight i.e. the red light on the external flash should be able to see the built-in flash fire.

With this knowledge, I hope you can try out experimenting with flash like eliminating ambient light and so on. Please do share the pictures and techniques that you try. Also, do add in the comments if you know how to make this work for a Nikon camera, so that someone may find it useful.

3 thoughts on “Whats on my mind? – How to make a Nissin Di 622 flash work off-camera.

  1. Those are stunning pictures! I have a kodak, but I’m interested in the techniques you’re using in general. I haven’t been doing much photography lately but I’d love to get back to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

