Flash Photography · Photography

Texture in Photography

Hi Readers!

I have not been much active on this site since I became a mum last year. My other website http://formummybaby.co.uk/ is also keeping me busy. But I have made an effort in the last few days to get back to my hobby i.e. photography.

You might know that I am a fan of Bryan Peterson’s You keep shooting series on Youtube. My fern photo on this website, was shot using the technique mentioned in the series.

Backlit fern

The inspiration for this photo is the video mentioned below:

Here, Bryan mentions that front lighting is flat lighting and back lighting is for texture.

I have experimented this at home using an off-camera flash. You can see the 2 results side by side and compare to see which one highlights texture better:

I have clicked these 2 with my Canon 600D. The first one is a clicked in Manual mode at 1/4second, aperture 5.6 with built-in flash. The second one is using a wireless external flash just above and behind the teddy bear, to the right side of the picture. The built in flash of the camera acts as the master and the external flash is the slave. I have used a fast shutter speed of 1/200th second to kill the ambient light. As you can see from the 2 pictures above, the back lighting picture emphasizes texture more.

If you want to know about how to use an external flash, then I have written an older post explaining the settings to use here.

Do you like to use an external flash? What is your favourite technique? Please leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

Update: I post my photos to receive feedback in a Flickr group called ‘Photography Critique’. More advanced photographers provide constructive criticism that helps me improve my photography. I have been able to learn a great deal in the past by submitting to this group. The feedback I received about this feedback is that ‘it is not pure backlighting, but more of a side lighting. If it was pure backlighting, the areas on the left would be more highlighted, to separate it more from the black background. A fill light on the left to fill in some of the darker areas just a bit, would be good, but not too much or else you lose the dramatic lighting.’

So, my next job on the to do list is to try this with pure backlighting, and a bit of fill light. Watch out for a future update on the post with the result! I hope that you learned something along with me, by this simple experiment! Please leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

